Make your own free website on
Albert E. Coe
(September 10, 1784-1854 )

 ALBERT E. COE  - In Middletown, Conn., Sept. 10, 1784, was born DAVID COE.  He was one of a 
family of nine children, five of whom settled in Leyden,, Lewis county.  When  DAVID was eleven 
years old,, his parents with four of the nine children, removed to Clinton, Oneida county  The Country 
round about was then a wilderness.  Being closely employed in the work of clearing up the farm, 
DAVID's school privileges were very limited.   At the age of 22 he married ORRA, daughter of 
HANANIAH ELLINWOOD. She was born in Brimfield, Mass., in 1789.  In 1807, they moved from 
Clinton, and settled in Smithfield, on the farm now owned by DUANE W. COE.  During the time Mr. 
COE was clearing off a piece of land near the road, the new couple lived in a log house which stood 
further back.  On the new clearing, where the present house now stands, a comfortable dwelling was 
erected.  With the assistance of his boys and other help the farm was cleared up, much improved, and 
additions made from time to time until he had a large farm.  In the year 1851 he retired from active 
business, removing to Oneida, where his health gave way, and he died in 1854, aged 70 years. His 
widow in a few years removed back to the farm, where she died in 1869, aged 80 years.  DAVID COE 
and his wife are remembered as exemplary, kind, honest and beloved by all.  They rest in the Peterboro 
 DAVID and ORRA COE were the father and mother of the subject of this sketch, ALBERT E. COE, 
who was born in Smithfield, April 22, 1808, the eldest of nine brothers and sisters, viz: SANFORD M., 
second and ninth named above are dead, six live in Madison county and one  in Onondaga county. 
 At seven years of age ALBERT began going to the country school held in Captain RAYMOND's 
house, following marked trees through the woods in company with a neighboring boy of about his 
own age.  This continued, and in log houses and shanties, until the school-house was built in Siloam, 
(then Ellinwood's Hollow.) Here he continued going to school, chiefly during the winter, as the farm 
work kept him at home during the summers.  At the age of six years he witnessed the execution of 
MARY ANTOINE, in Peterboro, and nine years later, that of her father, ABRAM ANTOINE in Morrisville. 
Both executions were public. Thousands of people were present. 
 ALBERT lived at home until he was 21 years old, when he married MARY, daughter of AMOS BRIDGE, 
of that town, in her nineteenth year.  They were married Jan. 1st, 1829.  ALBERT then bought the farm 
next west of his birth place, moved upon, cleared and improved it, until it was known as one of the best 
farms in Smithfield.  Just as life seemed to be opening brightly for them, death took Mrs. COE from her 
husband's side, May 15, 1844, leaving him with five children to mourn her loss.  He remained on the farm 
with the children, and in May, 1845, married CHARLOTTE T. READ, daughter of JOHN A. READ, of 
New Hartford, Oneida county, formerly of Massachusetts.  Mr. COE still continued to improve his farm until 
1852, when he rented it and removed to Oneida, occupying a house he had built the year previous.  Here 
he has since lived, engaged chiefly in buying and selling real estate. In 1853, he erected a brick block for 
renting purposes, which was at that time the most prominent building in the place. 
 In September, 1874, his wife CHARLOTTE died, leaving five children and husband in affliction.  Four of 
the twelve children rest with their mothers in Glenwood Cemetery, viz: SARAH C., an infant, FRANKIE L., 
and RALPH W.  These are now living ORRA E., BENEDICT, A. WELLS, LEDYARD W., now in 
Milwaukee, DAVID R., EDDIE W., MARY C., WILLIE S., and HATTIE S., one in Oneida and Utica. 
 ALBERT E. COE, with the help of two of his sons, has been for the last ten years, and is now in the 
mercantile business in Oneida, Madison county, in the block built by himself. 
From "History of Chenango and Madison Counties, NY" starting on page 736. 
Transcribed by Sandy Goodspeed  

Date: Friday, August 13, 1999 09:37 AM

Search this Site
Home Page