Make your own free website on
Town of Cazenovia Early Industries

    Industry               Product(s)            Lifespan                                 Notes 
Lake Mills                lumber & grains       1793-c.1910     A mill complex in the village of Cazenovia consisting of a 
                                                                saw & gristmill. The sawmill was built (1793) by John 
                                                                Lincklaen & the gristmill c.1797. Both operated until the 
                                                                early 1900's. Foundries & machine shops were opened nearby 
                                                                in the 1820's & 1830's. 
Bingley Gristmill         grains               c.1800-c.1960    Begun by James Powell & passed through several owners until 
                                                                it was bought by John Atkinson (1831). The mill was passed 
                                                                on to his son Wm. who operated the mill until he sold it to 
                                                                Floyd Brown. Brown operated the gristmill until around 1960 
                                                                then kept up the machinery for electricity production.The old 
                                                                mill was torn down about 1976 & many of the old machinery 
                                                                parts were removed & reassembled in a museum in Jamestown, 
                                                                N.Y. This mill is to be noted because it was one of the 
                                                                longest lived industries in Cazenovia. 
Chair Factory             chairs                1806-c.1848     Operated by Nehemiah White 1806 to 1815 when he sold to 
                                                                Ebenezer Knowlton who built an oil mill nearby. Knowlton, 
                                                                & later his son Edmund, made chairs in the shop until the late 
                                                                1840s; later the building was used as a print shop & book 
                                                                bindery by the firm of Mills, Crandall & Mosley. 
Cazenovia Woolen Mill     woolens               1808-c.1853     Begun by Elisha Farnham as a clothiers works. He was also in 
                                                                partnership with John Lincklaen & Elisha Starr in 1813. Sold 
                                                                in 1815 to Mathew Chandler & Son who later sold to John 
                                                                Williams. The 1834 mill building is still standing; (now part 
                                                                of Buyea's Hardware); later housed a gun shop & carriage shop. 
Triphammer Works          large forged items     c.1808-c.1818  Opened by Luther Brunell near the site of the present Buyea's 
                                                                Hardware; produced iron objects too large for a blacksmith to  
John Hearsey Brewery      beer                   c.1809-1911    Begun by Sylvanius Dyer & later run by Hearsey until his 
                                                                death; the brewery was later converted to the "Grotto House," 
                                                                a hotel & the brewery was moved to the back of the lot. The 
                                                                brewery-Grotto House was torn down (1911) to make way for 
                                                                construction of the Atwell feed mill which still stands. The 
                                                                distillery was later run by John Wilson (c.1890) then Wilson 
                                                                & Roach, then by Harmon & Roach who were coal dealers. Harmon 
                                                                & Roach were bought out by the Cazenovia Lumber & Coal Co.  
                                                                who now have fuel oil tanks on the site. 
Cazenovia Paper Mill      paper products          1810-c.1875   Begun by Zadock Sweetland; continued by the Sweetland family 
                                                                until c.1865. Paper manufacturing was carried on for another 
                                                                decade by Henry Monroe; after several fires the mill ceased. 
                                                                The site was soon occupied by J.F. Crawford Mower Works. 
Hat Factory               hats                    c.1810-c.1825 Operated for about 15 years behind the chair factory by John 
                                                                Brevoort & Jere Allis. Edward P. Allis, son of Jere, worked 
                                                                here for a time & at one of the machine shops in the village 
                                                                before moving to Milwaukee where he became founder of the 
                                                                Allis-Chalmers Corp. 
Tannery                   tanned leathers         1815-c.1880   Begun by Thomas & John Williams in the village. They sold to 
                                                                Rufus & Russell G. Allen about 1822; soon moved the factory 
                                                                about one mile north of the village. Allens discontinued 
                                                                (1851). Rufus moved to Two Rivers, Wisc., where he opened 
                                                                another tannery which by the 1880s had grown to be the 
                                                                largest tannery in the world. The Cazenovia tannery was then 
                                                                operated by Andrew Dardis, a Cazenovia shoemaker. 
Oil Mill                  oil & machine           c.1815-1865   Built by Ebenezer Knowlton; used as an oil mill & machine 
                          shop products                         shop until the end of 19th c. From about 1865 the building 
                                                                was owned by Stone, Marshall & Card who produced among other 
                                                                things, tower clocks, glass ball traps, & specialized mill 
                                                                machinery. The bldg. was later owned by the village & used 
                                                                as a repair shop. It was torn down about 1940. 
Tower Clock               tower clocks             1830-1875    Jehiel Clark, Sr. was descended from a famous Plymouth, 
Manufacurers                                                    Conn., clockmaking family & worked from 1830 to 1847. His 
                                                                son, Jehiel Clark Jr. made clocks from 1845 to 1850. Austin 
                                                                VanRiper, who may have succeeded the Clarks, was also a 
                                                                tower clock maker who worked in the village from 1850 to 
                                                                1858. Stone & Marhsall, whose clocks are found nationwide, 
                                                                continued in the tradition of VanRiper from 1858 to 1875. 
Cedar Grove               woolens                  1837-1852    Opened on the site of the old gristmill run by William Burton 
Woolen Mills                                                    & John Hearsey, by E.S. Jackson & his son Rensselaer; ran  
                                                                until fall in prices for woolen goods forced them to sell in 
                                                                1850. The mill was purchased by Henry Ten Eyck who owned an- 
                                                                other woolen mill in the Pompey Hollow; he operated it for a 
                                                                short time until the building burned (1852). The site was 
                                                                later occupied by L.E. Swan, who manufactured bookbinders' 
                                                                boards in the 1860s & '70s & the Cazenovia Wool & Felt Co. 
                                                                around then turn of the century. 
Carriage Makers           carriages &              c.1845-1890  Combs & Shute made carriages in the village, c.1845 to 1870. 
                          wagons                                Silas E. Morse made carriages & sleighs in New Woodstock,  
                                                                c.1860 to 1880.  J.H. O'Neil made wagons & carriages in the 
                                                                old Cazenovia Woolen Mill building in the east part of the 
                                                                village, c.1870 to 1890. 
Sash Factory              doors, windows,          1848-c.1930s Begun at the Lake Mills on Mill Street in the village by 
                          paneling, custom                      VanDriesen & Bliss. In 1851 it was moved to a new building 
                          woodwork                              on Chittenango Creek about two miles north of village. About 
                                                                1853 VanDriesen sold to Ames & Thayer; after several business 
                                                                changes was known as T.W. Thayer & Co. who continued the 
                                                                industry until the 1930s. This was perhaps the most 
                                                                successful of Cazenovia's many varied industries. 
Shelter Valley            woolens                  1850-1901    One of the industries that sprang up after the opening of the 
Woolen Mills                                                    Cazenovia & Chittenango Plank Road; this large manfactory 
                                                                supported a machine shop, boarding house, & half a dozen 
                                                                workers' cottages. Opened by Williams, Ledyard & Stebbins; the 
                                                                mill flourished until the main mill building burned (1901). 
American Lock             locks & keys              1875-1878   Begun by Philo S. Felter in Cincinnatus (1875); soon moved to 
Company                                                         Cazenovia. Felter exhibited his products at the 1876 Centennial 
                                                                Exhibition in Philadelphia. In 1878 the company was sold lock, 
                                                                stock, & barrel to the Yale Lock Co. of Stamford, Conn. & the 
                                                                equipment was moved to that city. 
Cardner Box Factory       cheese boxes             1867-c.1940  Manufactured cheese boxes on Limestone Creek in New Woodstock; 
                                                                run by the Cardner family for four generations; produced more 
                                                                than one million cheese boxes in 1915. The Morse Cheese Box 
                                                                factory also operated in New Woodstock c. 1860 to c. 1880. 
Crawford Mower Works      mowers & reapers         1875-c.1885  Started by Rev. Joesph F. Crawford in Ilion (1871) moved to 
                                                                Cazenovia (1875). In 1876, he built a spacious new factory 
                                                                designed by Syracuse architect Archimedes Russell; products 
                                                                sold across the country & around the world; business was un- 
                                                                fortunately overly expanded & production rapidly declined; 
                                                                company folded about ten years after opening. The bldg., 
                                                                which is still standing, later housed the Bentley Shoe Co., 
                                                                the Cazenovia Electric Co., a canning factory, Loysters  
                                                                Diepress Co., GLF & Waterbury & Coe feed store. 
Belmont Powder Mill       gunpowder                 late 1890s  Operated by a Col. Griswold; mill & surrounding buildings 
                                                                blew up in 1898.  

Note: This information provided (with permission) from the Madison County Historical Society publication Country Roads Revisited. MCHS for information on publications & services the Society can provide.
Date: Monday, March 1, 1999 07:11 PM

Home Page